About Lehigh Formula SAE

The Lehigh Formula SAE team is an undergraduate engineering club composed of approximately 30 engineering and business students with an interest in the motorsports and related industries. Each year the team designs, manufactures, and races a unique single seat racecar in the Society of Automotive Engineers collegiate design competition. The FSAE competition allows students to experience the complete progression of a product, from initial concept to manufacture and assembly. Our experience in developing the prototype race vehicle educates students in the application of engineering principles, the impacts of business decisions, and establishing supplier relationships. Without the generous support of our sponsors and suppliers, the Lehigh University community would not have the unique opportunity to witness the full capabilities that the engineering and science fields offer.


The Society of Automotive Engineers, SAE, hosts an annual design and performance competition for Formula style race vehicles at the Michigan International Peedway. The competition maintains its own rules, or formula, for vehicles to ensure the competition is safe and fair. The competition in Brooklyn, Michigan is truly where the year-long project culminates, as designs from over 100 colleges and universities are presented, each competing for the top spot. Lehigh has attended the event since the competition in 1993, and has won several design awards, routinely placing in the upper quartile when not hampered by mechancal failures. The success of the team can be attributed to the commitment of its members, who do not receive course credit or other compensation for participation in the Formula SAE program, and our sponsors, who generously provide the funding required to construct the vehicle.

Board of Directors

Jim Lohan, Captain (2014)
Dan Shea, Co-Captain (2014)
Nick Acosta, Co-Captain (2015)
Dalton Smith, Funding Manager (2013)
Matt Levy, Business Manager (2015)
Peter Hicks, Website Development (2013)
Ian Walther, Website Development (2014)
Arno Konig, Underclassmen Manager (2015)
Jake Patterson, Alumni Consultant, 2012, 2014G

Faculty Advisors

Joachim Grenestedt
Bill Maroun